Keep an eye out for details of the 2020 conference, to be held in Christchurch on March 11th-13th!

Check out the conference website at:



The 2019 conference was held 3-6 March in Wellington, the capital of New Zealand. Over 180 professionals attended the annual event, which has been running for more than 40 years. The conference is a unique opportunity to network and share ideas across our diverse and wide-ranging industry.

The topic for this year’s conference was “The Changing Face of Transport in New Zealand”.  Congratulations to the following winners:

Best Young Author (sponsored by ITEANZ)

4-way stop; whose move?

Rebecca Tuke, Abley

Highly Commended Young Author

How Hackathons and Smart Cities relate

Kathy Matete, Beca


Best Practice Paper

Understanding vulnerable road user crash risk

Dr Shane Turner, Abley

Highly Commended Practice Paper

Fares and ticketing transition in Wellington

Reza Chalabianlou, GWRC


Best Research Paper

The changing signal faces of cycling

Megan Gregory/Axel Wilke, ViaStrada Ltd

Highly Commended Research Paper

The mechanics/politics of changing speed limits

Dr Glen Koorey, ViaStrada Ltd


AA Award for Best Conference Paper

Understanding vulnerable road user crash risk

Dr Shane Turner, Transport Consultant


Best abstract presentation

Auckland: the case for Vision Zero

Andrew Bell, Auckland Transport & Phil Harrison, WSP|Opus


People’s Choice Award – Poster

4-way stop; whose move?

Rebecca Tuke, Abley


People’s Choice Best Award – Oral

Improving PT reliability on Auckland’s motorways

Dr Ranjan Pant & Kevan Fleckney, NZ Transport Agency


Thanks to those who joined us at the conference and enjoyed what Wellington had to offer! For conference papers, presentations and photos, go to:

Further Information
For further information about attending, presenting or sponsoring future conferences, visit the website or contact Glenda Harding on 03 352 5598 or glenda@hardingconsultants.co.nz

Previous Conferences

Papers from previous conferences are usually available. These can be found in the archive section of the conference website (www.tgconference.co.nz) or on the below links:

2018 Papers – 21-23 March, Millenium Hotel, Queenstown
2017 Papers – 29-31 March, Distinction Hotel, Hamilton
2016 Papers – 7-9 March, Pullman Hotel, Auckland
2015 Papers – 22-24 March, Rydges Hotel, Christchurch
2014 Papers – 23-26 March, Shed 6 Queens Wharf, Wellington
2013 Papers – 14-16 April, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin
2012 Papers – 18-21 March, Energy Events Centre, Rotorua
2011 Papers – 27-30 March, Pullman Hotel, Auckland
2010 Papers – 14-17 March, Town Hall, Christchurch
2008 Papers – 2-5 November, Puke Ariki, New Plymouth
2007 Papers – 10 October, Sebel Trinity Wharf, Tauranga
2006 Papers – 11 October, Rydges Lakeland Resort, Queenstown
2005 Papers – 7 September, Hyatt Regency, Auckland
2004 Papers – 8 September, St James Theatre, Wellington
2003 Papers – 17 September, Hotel Grand Chancellor, Christchurch
2002 Papers – 25 September, Grand Tiara Hotel, Rotorua
2001 Papers – 12 September, Sky City, Auckland